What language do the Sahrawi speak?

What language do the Sahrawi speak?

Western Sahara/Official languages

The Moroccan constitution stipulates two official languages for the Kingdom of Morocco, including Western Sahara: Berber (Tamazight) and Arabic.

Is Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic a state?

Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic

Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic الجمهورية العربية الصحراوية الديمقراطية (Arabic) República Árabe Saharaui Democrática (Spanish)
• Republic declared February 27, 1976
• Total 266,000 km2 (103,000 sq mi) (83rd)
• Water (%) Negligible

Are Sahrawi black?

As with most peoples living in the Sahara, the Sahrawi culture is a mix of Berber, Black African and Arab elements. The privileged position of women in Sahrawi tribes is a Berber tradition that predates the arrival of Islam and Arabs, as well as characteristics common to ethnic groups of the Sahel.

Which country is Sahrawi?

Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR), also called Saharawi Arab Democratic Republic or Saharan Arab Democratic Republic, self-declared state claiming authority over the disputed territory of Western Sahara, which is presently occupied by Morocco.

What is the capital of Sahrawi?

Western Sahara/Capitals

Where are the Sahrawi people in the Sahara Desert?

The Sahrawi, or Saharawi people ( Arabic: صحراويون ‎ ṣaḥrāwīyūn; Berber: Iseḥrawiyen; Moroccan Arabic: صحراوة Ṣeḥrawa; Spanish: Saharaui ), are the people living in the western part of the Sahara desert which includes Western Sahara, southern Morocco, much of Mauritania and the extreme southwest of Algeria .

What kind of language do the Sahrawis speak?

Sahrawis are composed of many tribes and are largely speakers of the Hassaniya dialect of Arabic, and some of them still speak Berber in Morocco. The Arabic word Ṣaḥrāwī صحراوي literally means “Inhabitant of the Desert”.

Which is the official language of Western Sahara?

Modern Standard Arabic and the Amazigh language (a standardized version of Moroccan Berber languages) is the official language of the Moroccan administered part of Western Sahara. While Standard Arabic is the only official language in Mauritania, Algeria and the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic.

What kind of government does the Sahrawis have?

The government consists of a council of minister led by the prime minister, a judiciary branch whose members are appointed by the president, and the parliament, which is officially titled the Sahrawi National Council. Since its establishment in 1976, the government has evolved from an ad hoc structure to a functional government.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top