Do you need a license to drive an ATV in Wisconsin?
Despite them all being motorized vehicles, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), mopeds and motorcycles have different legal requirements in Wisconsin. All ATVs, mopeds and motorcycles in Wisconsin must be registered with the state. ATVs may be driven without a license, but the driver must have a safety certification card.
Can you drive a four wheeler on the road in Wisconsin?
Changes in state law allows ATVs and UTVs to be on roads in communities that authorize their use. Seeing an ATV in front of you on a local Wisconsin road might be disconcerting but not illegal, thanks to changes in state law.
Can you have a passenger on a four wheeler in Wisconsin?
ATV/UTV riding is a growing sport in Wisconsin. — ATV operators cannot have a passenger riding in or on any part of an ATV that is not designed or intended to be used by passengers. Previously, this law only applied to roadways. After-market seating does not comply with the law.
How old do u have to be to ride a quad?
17 years old
A quad bike (also known as an all-terrain vehicle or ATV), can only be ridden by someone who has passed their car driving test and who holds a full driving licence, and who is at least 17 years old.
Do you have to register an ATV in Wisconsin?
Wisconsin UTV Laws. Wisconsin UTV laws largely mirror the state’s ATV laws, meaning you’ll have to take a safety certification course to operate a UTV and you’ll have to register the vehicle.
How tall does an ATV have to be in Wisconsin?
The characters must be at least 1.5 inches high with a minimum brush stroke of 3/16 of an inch wide. If you are not a Wisconsin resident, you either need to obtain a valid Public Use registration for your ATV or UTV, or you will need to obtain and display a non-resident trail pass.
Can a UTV be used on public trails in Wisconsin?
Only those ATVs and UTVs that meet statutory definitions can be registered and used on public trails. There are many sizes of ATVs and UTVs available for purchase, but not all of them are eligible to be registered in Wisconsin or used on Wisconsin ATV/UTV trails.
When does an ATV trail pass expire in Wisconsin?
When you purchase an annual trail pass, you will receive a temporary operating receipt that you must carry with you to operate your ATV or UTV in Wisconsin until you receive the trail pass decal, which should arrive by mail in 2 weeks or less. The annual trail pass expires each year on March 31, regardless of when it was purchased.