Who was the first South African president?

Who was the first South African president?

List of state presidents of South Africa

No. Name (Birth–Death) Term of office
Took office
1 Charles Robberts Swart (1894–1982) 31 May 1961
Theophilus Ebenhaezer Dönges (1898–1968) Elected but did not take office because of illness
Jozua François Naudé (1889–1969) Acting 1 June 1967

How many presidents does South Africa have?

President of South Africa (1994–present)

No. President (Birth–Death) Term of office
Took office
19 Kgalema Motlanthe (1949–) 25 September 2008
20 Jacob Zuma (1942–) 9 May 2009
21 Cyril Ramaphosa (1952–) 14 February 2018

Who was the Prime Minister of South Africa?

General James Barry Munnik Hertzog KC, better known as Barry Hertzog or J. B. M. Hertzog (3 April 1866 – 21 November 1942), was a South African politician and soldier. He was a Boer general during the Second Boer War who became Prime Minister of the Union of South Africa from 1924 to 1939.

Who is the Minister of State for Africa?

Current role holder: Andrew Stephenson MP. Andrew Stephenson MP was appointed Minister of State at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and the Department for International Development on 25 July 2019.

Who was the third president of South Africa?

The third post-apartheid president of South Africa. He was elected following the resignation of Thabo Mbeki and briefly served before being succeeded by Jacob Zuma, who later appointed Motlanthe deputy president. The fourth post-apartheid president of South Africa.

Who is the head of government in South Africa?

Unlike other former British colonies and dominions who have adopted a parliamentary republican form of government and those that follow the Westminster system, South Africa’s President is both head of state and head of government and Commander-in-Chief of the South African National Defence Force (SANDF).

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top